I need your help with something :)

Hallo everyone,

so, recently I got contacted by the people from Lingoda. 

lingoda-writing
Lingoda is an online language school where you can learn German, English, French and Spanish via Skype. And they asked me if I’d like to do a review on the blog.
I took a first glance at their offer and they have very reasonable pricing (in my opinion) and they can actually issue certificates, which is pretty cool, I think. But most importantly they said there would be some goodies for you guys. So I said “Sure, why not.”
But then I was thinking… I’m not learning German at the moment.  I’ve kind of plateaued. On the native plateau… hahaha… yeah, I know. My humor has plateaued too.
But seriously,  maybe I’m not the best person to do such a review. Sure, I can give you my thoughts on their service, take a few trial classes, see how everything works and how it feels to study with them. And I will do that. But the people who are REALLY qualified to review German learning material are you guys.
And that’s why I’d love you to join in.

I am looking for 2 people who’d like to take a few free trial classes at Lingoda.

Now everyone is of course like “Yeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa, I’ll take one.”
But there’s a catch:

You need to write a review about it.

And yes… the review will be posted on this blog :). It doesn’t need to be super extensive or anything. Just your thoughts and impressions.
You need Skype, a stable fairly fast internet connection and the “paper” is due end of November :).
Interested? 

Leave a comment with an answer to the following deeply philosophical question:

If the German language were an animal, which one would it be?

****** UPDATE:  wow, there are sooo many great and funny answers :D.  The two trial accounts are gone. Sorry but the decision was already hard enough  *****

You can still tell us what animal German is in your opinion though… it’s really fun to read all your comments. And if you didn’t win…. I have a cool surprise coming up soon.

Ich freu mich :). Bis dann.

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Newsletter for free?!

Sign up to my epic newsletter and get notified whenever I post something new :)
(roughly once per week)

No Spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Your Thoughts and Questions

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
53 Comments
Newest
Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
parisbongi
parisbongi
5 years ago

Offensichtlich ein Nacktschnecke !! Slow to learn, LOTS of consonents and a scattering of vowels.

5 years ago

German language is often like a peafowl (Pflau).

“In Peafowl society there is no such thing as an easy hook-up. Nothing happens without elaborate ritual and fan-fair”, as described in a Nat Geo documentary.

With all the bewilderment and pride that comes with the tail display of a peacock, a very scientific mechanism is behind its beauty and originality just like the German language. It can also fly.

I have been studying German for a few months now, moved to Germany this month, taking daily courses, reading books and news in German, sitting for interviews in German, and barely using English. Although I am completing a B2 level and doing very well in conversing in German with a good accent, I still feel like I am hiking on a very steep and high mountain to reach a fluent level at the soonest.

I speak 3 languages prior to German, and this language is simply beautiful!

Anonymous
Anonymous
5 years ago

When I saw your post two days ago, I had to laugh because a prior to it I wanted to send you an e-mail requesting you to consider giving lessons via Skype. The Universe has ways of making things happen. Most people I know are scared of the German Language, yet for someone who has been a polyglot since my 3rd year into this life (island life makes you learn as many as 4 languages since birth!), I find German graceful, poetic, fluid (and naughty too ), not that horrendous at all.

If I had to choose an animal, it would be a Wolf; loner by nature, but fierce and graceful. Thank you for the work you do.

Anomenschkind
Anomenschkind
5 years ago

Ich möchte einfach kommentieren :)

Nach meiner Meinung ist Deutsch wie eine Libelle/ Drachenflieger. Viele Menschen finden sie entweder gruselig oder nervend, aber sie hat selbst eine besondere Art der Schönheit, die manche Menschen merken können & was am liebsten passiert, ist das die Einfachheit (nicht zu schick, sehr direkt, usw.) ganz lieb & gefällig ist.

Ja, zwar denke ich oft an, ” zum Teufel mach ich das? Oder wieso fand ich das sogar so interessant/ was für scheiße hab ich gekifft?” Usw. Aber später wird es mir wieder klar, was ich wirklich in diese unter geschätzte Sprache gesehen habe. Ehrlich ^^

Glückwunsch fürs Angebot,Emanuel! Weiter so!

Bruno (ja, wieder da...)
Bruno (ja, wieder da...)
5 years ago

Ah ja, ich hab vergessen: Deutsch ist, natürlich, ein Vogel. “Singt ein Vogel, singt ein Vogel, singt im Märzenwald…”

Tony Gregory
Tony Gregory
5 years ago

German is a cheeky chimpanzee. it’s interesting, playful, and sort of feels vaguely familiar. it’ll play with you, amuse you, captivate you. But just as you think you’ve managed to tame it, and make it yours, it’ll do something random and unpredictable to remind you that it is it’s own beast. But even in his most random moments, he’ll just intrigue you more, and you’ll want to spend even more time getting to know him. I know we’re very distant cousins, and that’s part of his appeal – i feel i ought to know him – it’s quite obvious he’s been on his own journey since before anyone can remember, and has evolved into something unique and precious, and really quite spirited!
[ i am between A2 and B1, and happy to email my Skype address – i have a good internet connection]

mkarabiy
mkarabiy
5 years ago

German is a tiger. It is elegant and noble-looking from a distance. When you get closer and try to tame it, you realize it does not want to be. Training results in bruises and even maiming of few body parts. When you think you become friendly, it slashes your face with a grin on his face. Then you realize Mark Twain was right altogether. I am probably A2.

Brad Snyder
Brad Snyder
5 years ago

I see German as a hive of bees. Usually all the components work together in harmony with well-defined and logical roles ending in a pot of honey…but sometimes you just get stung. My level B2

lblullaby
5 years ago

hmm I would say German would be a french bulldog…don’t ask me why…and sure, I am interested :) My level would be somewhere between B1 and B2. Somewhere…and my email is lmtinajero@ucdavis.edu

Sonia John
Sonia John
5 years ago

Wenn Deutsch ein Tier wäre dann es werde ein Löwen. (I hope I said that right), if not, then you knwo that I need all the help here. I am currently in Germny and have a decent understanding of the language, but its in no way extensive. I would like to think that I belong in the Intermediary group. Right now, since I am actively looking for work, I need to learn the language as soon as I can so that I stand a chance of getting employed here. This tool, if it turns out to be good, will definitley help me with that. *fingers crossed*

Allan Geekie
Allan Geekie
5 years ago

I’d be keen to participate in the trial.

Allan

Pavel Varbanov
Pavel Varbanov
5 years ago

Super :) Ich denke Deutsch ist als die Schlange – wunderschön und perfid.

Micah Ringlein
Micah Ringlein
5 years ago

German is a creature I’ve never seen before. It has dimensions, attributes that I can identify, but its characteristics are just not quite right for me to categorize it. I can only perhaps compare it to a deep sea angler and the experience that the first discoverer must have felt. “Whoa there, what the….is that…can I understand this? What’s happening right now? It seems to abide by certain rules, contexts, elements, but it’s unlike anything I’ve dared to imagine” It’s intriguing as it’s new and yet, it’s not new at all for so much of the world.

German is intimidating to me, but so wonderful and poetic at the same time. I have been independently studying it off and on with Babbel, Duolingo, and private study through songs and reference books. I would consider my level to be close to a beginner (A1) with lack of speaking and writing practice and a significant emphasis on reading and listening. I have Skype, a fast connection, and I would love to be contacted. Thank you for the consideration.

zach
zach
5 years ago

if German were an animal it would be a house cat because while they can be warm and friendly , most of the time they’re just irrational and unpredictable and they are super fickle, but once you get to know one it can be wicked fun and playful.. I’m between a beginner and an intermediate I think because I know a bit of dativ case/indirect objects and could recognize maybe 700 words

Marion Haftel
5 years ago

I see Deutsch as a cat. I think we are getting to be friends and then it scratches me, or goes and hides under the bed. So would like to be chosen for reviewing Lingoda. I have been working on learning German for close to three years. In one of the first blog posts I ever read of yours (I probably knew 200 words at the time) I identified with what you said about how people who like studying this language have Stockholm Syndrome. Indeed! I work in Deutschland 6 months each year and come home to America for 6 months. I work with other Americans all day and my German friends speak Englisch to me about anything important. Ich kann den Supermarkt außer der Zahlung und Absacken gleichzeitig behandlung. Ja, Ich liebe Deutschland, ausnehme der Servicewürste Teilung. And since talking about the weather or things like “Das war niemals ein Tor!”, do not take up all that much time with my German friends, I don’t get much practice. My study has been mostly on my own except for an A2.2 in Stuttgart last Spring. It was great! I had to keep ahead of the class in the book because I did not have the vocabulary many people who were working in the local community did. But it helped. I get a fair amount of the grammar, but vocabulary is troublesome. I work on it everyday and manage to write informal emails and texts auf Deutsch quite often, I love Memrise for learning vocabulary. But I am looking for something that helps me really develop the ability to have something beyond the most rudimentary conversation. I probably know somewhere between 2-3 thousand words. I do love the language for reasons I do not comprehend, just like I love cats. Vielen Dank for your consideration! the audio clips you have now are cool, and I love your sense of humor! It keeps me going sometimes. Note the link to my blog where there are more recent posts is broken. So I put the one that at least works. Ubrigens, Robert apparently agrees with me about the cat. I bet there will be others!

chris murphy
5 years ago

I’d love to try it. I’ve taken lessons on a similar site so I think I’d have a good comparison. Let’s see, if German language was an animal I’d say it a Bear. It looks really cute and easy to learn but then it can turn on you at any time and be a royal pain in the butt. My e-mail is chrismurphy215@gmail.com

Rozlan Schrijnder
5 years ago

Ich freue mich auch. Ich möchte gerne probieren. Ich bin ein anfänger.

brightstar
brightstar
5 years ago

I’d be happy to give it a go after I am clear on how private my Skype username is going to be.
Hence, I will confirm my participation after I receive a reply to this email.

I don’t want my Skype name to be public.
Also, when in November is the review due?
My german level is A1

Regards

Brightstar

Julie
Julie
5 years ago

my animal, definitely something insidious…like a snake…smart, makes sense, scary and sometimes moves slowly!

Julie
Julie
5 years ago

I love these comments! I am a solid, I don’t know, A2.1 or A2.2. My goal in life is to achieve B.1 but I may never be able to do it. To make matters worse I have speaking terror!! I have taken courses and been learning on my own forever and I make very slow incremental progress. Not a natural and not getting any younger either! Durn! I’ll check it out no matter what.